Press "Enter" to skip to content

Pato O’Ward gets his first win in Indy Car

Mexican driver Patricio O’Ward got his first win in the Indy Car, crossing the finish line in first place at the Texas circuit

The Mexican pilot Patricio O’Ward conquered the Indy Car Series this Sunday when they prevailed at Texas Motor Speedway, which meant the first Aztec victory in 12 years and seven months at the circuit.

O’Ward, who dominated this Sunday in the Texas oval, achieved glory after more than a decade that a national driver did not obtain a trophy in the Indy Car. The last to do so was Adrian Fernandez, who won at Fontana on October 3, 2004.

The Arrow McLaren SP team driver finished first at the Texas circuit and was established as the best driver of the day. Even at the end of the race he was grateful for having his first victory in the category after so many years of work.

“In the end, it was a long race, but we have a lot ahead of us. The whole team did a great job and yesterday we were on the podium and imagined something better. We had a lot of rhythm. We did the job and I am proud of this group of people, ”said the Mexican.

“I didn’t think it would arrive in the oval, but I take it. It is very close to my heart. I lived here for many years and there are many Mexicans here and thank you very much, I am very happy. At last ”, he added.

Meanwhile, at 21 years old and questioned if it was the best birthday gift he could get, the Aztec pilot assured that it was.

“Yes, my birthday is in four days,” he added. O’Ward questioned as to whether it was a good gift due to its closeness to his 22nd birthday.

This saturday, O’Ward he finished third in the Genesys 300 and had his first podium of the season. Inspired by the way he raced the day before, the Mexican started from fourth place and rallied to first place to win for the first time in his career.

The Mexican beat Josef Newgarden and Graham Rahal, who finished second and third, respectively. Meanwhile, Scott Dixon, who took first place on Saturday, stayed in fourth place.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *