Press "Enter" to skip to content

Nancy Pelosi remains Chair of the House of Representatives

Dhe Democrat Nancy Pelosi has been re-elected Chairwoman of the American House of Representatives. At the constituent meeting of the Congress Chamber on Sunday, Pelosi just achieved the necessary majority for re-election for the influential top post with 216 votes. Their challenger, Republican Kevin McCarthy, got 209 votes.

Pelosi had already steered her party as chairman of the House of Representatives through the second half of President Donald Trump’s term in office for the past two years – as America’s most politically powerful woman and as the Republican’s most important opponent. As soon as the future American president, Democrat Joe Biden, is sworn in on January 20th, that will change. The future Vice President Kamala Harris – the first woman to hold this post – will then replace Pelosi as the most powerful woman in American politics.

From 2007 to 2011, Pelosi had previously chaired the Congress Chamber. At that time, she became the first woman in the country’s history to take up the post. She has been in the political business for decades, a long time in leadership positions in Congress. She knows how to fend off criticism, organize majorities and catch deviants. When her election as chairman of the Congress Chamber shook two years ago and some Democrats called for rejuvenation, she successfully fended off the revolt. However, the now 80-year-old Democrat has indicated that this will be her last term in office at the head of the House of Representatives.

After the Democrats had unexpectedly lost many seats in the House of Representatives to the Republicans in the November election, the majority of the party in the chamber has become extremely tight. It has shrunk to currently 222 from 435 seats. At least 218 votes are generally required for a simple majority. Two seats are currently vacant – one because of an open race, another because of the recent death of a newly elected parliamentarian. Several MPs were also absent due to illness at the opening session. 427 parliamentarians were present.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *