Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mets leave Marlins out with controversial pitch to Michael Conforto

Even the New York Mets called their 3-2 win over the Miami Marlins a stroke of luck.

With the bases loaded and one out in the bottom of the ninth inning and after Jeff McNeil had tied the score with a home run to open the episode, a pitching on a 1-2 count in the inside corner of Michael Conforto brushed the ball. protection of his inner elbow as he leaned in to give the Mets victory.

Initially, home plate umpire Ron Kulpa began to score the third strike and then changed his mind mid-shout to say the pitch hit Conforto.

The umpires chatted about the decision, but it stuck. Under the rules for review, a decision as to whether a pitch is within the strike zone when it touches a batter and whether the batter tries to avoid being hit is not a reviewable action.

On the other hand, Rule 5.05 (b) (2) states that a batter has the right to go to first base when hit by a pitch unless:

(A) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter or (B) the batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; (2) If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, a strike must be called, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, the ball must be marked if no attempt is made to avoid being touched.

After the game, Kulpa acknowledged that he made a poor decision by saying, according to the report, that “the batter was hit by the pitch in the strike zone. I should have put it out. “

“It’s not the way I wanted to win the game. I wanted to send the ball somewhere, ”Conforto said after the match. “From my point of view, (the pitch) was a slider, I felt it come back to me and I spun. Maybe I raised my elbow a little out of habit, out of reaction, and it just brushed my elbow guard.

“I did see that (Kupla) started to score the out, so you don’t see that I have any reaction. I didn’t know what was going to happen. I knew there was going to be controversy. Our first base coach was yelling at me to go to first base and touch base to end the game. “

Marlins manager Don Mattingly said the umpires told him they could check to see if the ball had hit Conforto. Whether Conforto turned to launch or not, it was a judgment call “and they didn’t agree on that.”

“The most complicated thing is that it is only a strike. It’s that simple, ”Mattingly pointed out. “You’d think with all the reps we have you’d say, ‘That ball is a strike.’ I wonder what will happen when they automatic the strike zone and break the plane and the batter does that (turn or get closer to the ball). I wonder if that will be a strike or not. But that will be resolved later ”.

Conforto said he had no idea what the pitching rules were until he saw it on clubhouse televisions after the game.

Luis Rojas, manager of the Mets, considered that the umpires made the right decision.

“I saw that they marked strike and then that they marked the ball. In the end, the umpires made the right decision, an interesting one indeed. The movement of the hand and trying to get out of the way caused the pitch, but we made the decision, ”insisted Rojas.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *