Press "Enter" to skip to content

January 6th Congress session: Eleven Republican senators refuse to confirm Biden’s election victory

US election Congress session on January 6th

Eleven Republican senators do not want to confirm Biden’s election victory

| Reading time: 2 minutes

Police violence, corona, presidential election – that was 2020 in the USA

In the USA in 2020, as in the rest of the world, almost everything revolved around Corona. In no other country have so many people died from the virus as here. But that did not affect the presidential election.

There has not been such a sweeping attempt to overturn a US election result since the Civil War. When the results of the presidential election are formally confirmed in Congress next week, Republican senators plan to object.

Elf Republican senators plan to object to the final confirmation of the US presidential election results in Congress next week. The group, led by Ted Cruz, issued a joint statement calling for the results to be examined in several states for possible election fraud.

Earlier, Republican Senator Josh Hawley and several of his party colleagues in the House of Representatives had announced that they would object to the certification of the results of the electorate.

For this certification – usually a mere formal act – both houses of the congress will meet on Wednesday. They count the votes from the individual states and officially announce the result.

also read

A few days after the election, Trump supporters in Atlanta do not want to admit the defeat of their idol, demonstrate with a cardboard cutout

The Republicans’ objection will not change the fact that President-elect Joe Biden is sworn in on January 20th. Nevertheless, it is the most comprehensive attempt since the Civil War to overturn an election result in the USA. Senate majority leader Mitch McConnell has called on the rest of his party colleagues to accept President Donald Trump’s defeat and to confirm the votes of the electorate.

Outgoing President Trump falsely claims that there was massive fraud in the election. Numerous courts, including the Supreme Court, have dismissed complaints from its supporters in recent weeks.

Here you can listen to our WELT podcasts

We use the player from the provider Podigee for our WELT podcasts. We need your consent so that you can see the podcast player and to interact with or display content from Podigee and other social networks.

Cruz and his associates said Saturday that they would vote against certain electors if Congress did not immediately set up an electoral commission to investigate the fraud allegations. They focus on those states in which Trump has made his baseless fraud allegations.

Biden won the election on November 3rd with 306 out of 232 voters. Trump was the first US president in almost 30 years to run for re-election and lose.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *