How to log out of another user in Windows 10

It is common to share the computer with other people, whether with our own family, friends or roommates. Windows allows you to create multiple users so that each one has their own libraries, settings, wallpapers, default applications or their own Start menu design, among other things. This can cause that before we arrive and open Windows 10, other users have done the same in the operating system without logging out. That is why today we are going to tell you How can we log out of another in Windows 10.

Normally we will not know the access data of the other person and therefore we will not be able to go and close their session, say, in the traditional way, so we will have to perform this task in another way.

Log out of another user

Task Manager

The first way that we are going to show you to be able to close the session of another user is by using the System Task Manager. For that we are going to carry out the following steps:

  • The first thing we are going to do is press the keys Ctril + Mayus + Esc at the same time and on the blue screen that will come out we choose Task Manager.
  • Once we are in the Administrator what we have to do is go to the tab that says Users. In this tab we will find information on the consumption of resources, CPU, RAM, Disk or Network of each of the users who have logged into the system.

log out

  • Now we select the user that we want to close his session and we do right click on the mouse.
  • In the window that now appears, we must select Disconnect or Sign out. In this way, we will be forcing the closing of the session of the selected user who had logged into our computer. It goes without saying that this will close all the applications that the user has open, so everything that is not saved can be lost.

PowerShell

Window Windows PorwerShell It also cannot help to close the session that another user has open in Windows 10. To do this, we must do the following:

  • Right-click on the Windows symbol on the taskbar and then choose Windows PowerShell (Administrador) in the dropdown that comes out.

Windows PowerShell

  • The next thing we must do is write a series of commands that we are going to show you below.
    • $ server = ‘computer name’
    • $ username = ‘username’
    • $sessionId = ((quser /server:$server | Where-Object { $_ -match $userName }) -split ‘ +’)[2]
    • logoff $sessionId /server:$server
  • You have to take several things into account. Where we put the name of the computer we must put the name of our PC and where we put the username, as you will have interpreted, you have to put the name of that person in our Windows system. In addition, after each of the commands, as you also know, we must press the key Enter.

windows poweshell commands

Command Prompt

Another method that we can use is to use the Command Prompt to achieve the same result as in the previous cases. We have to warn you that this method that we are going to teach you does not work for everyone and you may try to do it and get an error. The steps that we must follow are the following:

  • We must open the Command Prompt, but in his version of Administrator. For this we go to the task bar and where it allows us to write we are going to put CMD Administrator. You will see how we can open it if we look at the part where it says command.

CMD Administrator

  • Once we have the Command Prompt in Administrator on the screen, we just give it a try. write this command and then press Enter.
  • With this, what we are going to achieve is that we show all users currently connected to the operating system and thus know, without a doubt, which one we have to close.
  • Once we have seen the ID of the user whose session we are going to close, we write the following knowing that the X that we put is the place where we must put the user’s ID number.

We also want to remind you that in this case it happens exactly the same as in the previous ones, everything that that user had not saved will be irretrievably lost.

Change user in Windows 10

Although in most cases this is not the case, it may be possible that we know the login password of another user, so we would not have to train to close the session in the way we have seen above, that is, by the rough. If only we change a user to another, we could even save information that you had open so you would not lose it. The way to do it is very simple.

  • We must open the Windows Start menu and then click on our profile picture.
  • At that time, several options will be displayed, such as:
    • Change account settings: it will open what is necessary to change all the information of said account, in addition to the profile photo.
    • To block: here we can block the equipment, so the next time we start it will ask us for either the PIN or the password.
    • Sign off: we will close the session that we have active and we will go to the Windows welcome screen.
    • Other accounts: if we have other users on the computer, we will be able to see the rest of the accounts that are configured on this computer.
  • Then we must choose either Sign off, which will make us go to the Windows welcome screen and lose what we have not saved, or we could click on another account and it would lead us directly to it, but without closing ours.

Obviously we will have to know the login password and once inside the other account we would close the session in order to continue with ours, regardless of which of the two options we select.

These are the ways to close the session of other users, without knowing what the login password is and knowing it, although, as we said, this is not the most normal thing to do.

Leave a Comment