Press "Enter" to skip to content

Florian Thauvin will be the first European to reach Liga MX as current world champion

The Marseille player lifted the FIFA Cup with the French team at the 2018 World Cup Russia

The arrival of the player Florian Thauvin as a reinforcement of Tigres is close to materializing, with which he will become the first European to reach the MX League as current world champion, after he was crowned with the selection of France on Russia 2018.

Below are the players who have come to Mexico as champions of the world:

Ricardo La Volpe

The former Argentine goalkeeper came to Mexican soccer as current world champion, after he was part of the team that was crowned in Argentina 1978, when they defeated the Netherlands 3-1 in the final.

La Volpe was part of that squad, but he did not have the opportunity to play a single minute, since the starter was Ubaldo Fillol, but he was part of the champion team and later he arrived at Atlante in 1979 and stayed there until 1982. He ended up making his career even as a coach in Mexican soccer.


The Brazilian had appeared with the national team when he won the crown in the 1958 World Cup in Sweden and in Chile in 1962, so he came to football in this country as current world champion.

The latter because it was in 1964 when he came to America from Palmeiras in Brazil, he helped the capital’s team to get a league title in 1965 and in that same year he won the Cup tournament.

Sergio Omar Almirón

The former Argentine player was part of his country’s team that was crowned in the 1986 World Cup in Mexico., when they defeated Germany at the hand of the now deceased Diego Armando Maradona.

Almirón was part of that squad, although he did not have minutes, and for 1989 he joined Tigres as a reinforcement, when Carlos Reinoso was helmsman, and remained in the team for two years, before returning to football in his country.

Leopoldo Luque

The Argentine forward joins the list of players who came to Mexico as current world champions, after he was part of the representative that was crowned in Argentina 1978.

Leopoldo Luque, who was playing at that time with River Plate, participated in five games in the World Cup, in which he achieved four annotations, then he was transferred to Unión Santa Fe and in 1981 he arrived at Tampico Madero, where he doubles with Juan José “La Cobra “Muñante.


The Brazilian was a partner of players like Pelé and Garrincha, he was crowned with the Brazilian team in the World Cups Sweden 1958 and Chile 1962, for which he became another of those who came to Mexican soccer as the current champion.

The latter because in 1964 Veracruz, recently promoted, sought the services of the South American, who arrived in that year to remain with the team until 1966, the year in which he ended his career.

Florian Thauvin

The offensive midfielder is close to completing his transfer to Tigres with a view to the next Mexican soccer tournament and will arrive as the current champion, after he was part of the French team that was crowned in the 2018 World Cup Russia.

Florian Thauvin, who will arrive from Olympique de Marseille, participated in the tournament of the world in the round of 16 match, in which he came in relief to help his team defeat Argentina 4-3 and is now about to become the first European to join Liga MX under that condition.

Other champions who were in Mexico

In the passage of time, different players have been world champions and were in Mexican soccer, although they did not do so as current monarchs.

Among the list are the Argentine Luis Islas (Toluca), the Brazilians Bebeto (Toros Neza), Ronaldinho (Querétaro), Valdemar Rodrigues Martins (Toluca), Coutinho (Atlas), Mauro Ramos (Toluca), Edú (Tigres) and the Argentines Oscar Rugerri (America), Héctor Miguel Zelada (America), Claudio Borghi (Correcaminos).

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *