The government of Ecuador decreed a state of exception in eight provinces, the one in force since April 2 and for 30 days. The measure was announced by the President, Lenin Moreno, to stop the spread of Covid-19. The restrictions include a curfew and suspension of work in the public sector, among others.

The measures add to the signs of “alert for public calamity” in the regions of Azuay, Guayas, El Oro, Esmeraldas, Manabí, Pichincha, Loja and Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas. The declaration of the decree is based on the recommendation made by the National Emergency Operations Committee (COE).

The restrictions will apply in all eight provinces until the beginning of May to curb the coronavirus outbreaks. The movement restriction will be from April 2 to 9 from 8:00 p.m. until 05:00 hours. The National COE could “extend this temporality”, depending on the evolution of the contagion in the affected regions.

The prohibition of the sale and consumption of alcohol will also apply from Monday to Thursday from 6:00 p.m. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday, alcoholic beverages are prohibited throughout the day in the eight provinces. In addition, face-to-face working hours in the public sector of these regions are suspended from April 5 to 9.

Trade It details that teleworking will be implemented for tax officials. The executive banned mass events in the eight provinces. Vehicular circulation is even restricted for private vehicles from April 2 to 9, depending on whether the patents end in odd or even numbers.

Read more