Press "Enter" to skip to content

Daly confirmed to race ovals with Carlin

Conor Daly will drive the Carlin-Chevrolet # 59 in IndyCar oval races, with the exception of the Indianapolis 500.

The 29-year-old proved to be an important asset to the team when he took on this role in 2019, following the decision of the usual car owner, Max Chilton, to cut their calendar to permanent and street circuits as well as to the Indianapolis 500.

Even if Daly he was only a part-time pilot at the time, the experience he had accumulated in AJ Foyt Racing, Dale Coyne Racing, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, Harding Racing y Andretti Autosport during the previous five seasons it was useful to Carlin and his teammate Charlie Kimball to help refine the oval setups in the second part of the season.

In his fourth race for Carlin -with whom he had also raced in GP3 in 2011- Daly achieved sixth place at Gateway’s World Wide Technology Raceway.

So when Daly got the deal to race the street, permanent and Indy 500 circuits with Ed Carpenter Racing for 2020, Carlin was still interested in retaining his services as Chilton’s replacement at the other ovals, especially since the team had been downsized to a single car driveway.

Once again, Trevor Carlin’s faith was justified. Daly clinched a pole position at Iowa Speedway and four top-10s in his five starts with the arm of the legendary UK-based team based in Delray Beach, FL.

Also read:

Herta wins from pole at St. Petersburg with O’Ward out of top 10 Herta wins pole at St Petersburg and O’Ward at Fast Six Newgarden leads second practice at St. Pete and O’Ward top 10 Aeroscreen saved Ryan’s life Hunter-Reay at IndyCar

Today, Carlin and Daly have confirmed that he will return to driving the # 59 car, although the 2021 calendar contains only three oval races outside of the Indy 500: this weekend’s double appointment at Texas Motor Speedway and the race of August at Gateway WWTR.

Conor Daly with the Carlin Chevrolet crew after taking the team’s first IndyCar pole at Iowa last year.

Photo by: IndyCar Series

Read more

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *