Press "Enter" to skip to content

City and Chelsea, stars of the third English Champions League final

MADRID – Manchester City and Chelsea will play the third English final of the Champions League on May 29 at the Ataturk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul (Turkey).

The first time that two Premier League teams fought for the title was in 2008. Manchester United and the blues themselves met at Luzhniki in Moscow.

The Red Devils claimed the title in the penalty shoot-out after finishing the match and the overtime tied at one. Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo overtook United and called for Chelsea Frank Lampard.

Curiously, both missed their maximum penalty in the final round, in which a final error by the Frenchman Nicolas Anelka gave the victory to the team led by Alex Ferguson (6-5).

The second time the Premier won the final was in 2019. Liverpool and Tottenham met at the Wanda Metropolitano. The team of the German Jurgen Klopp, led by the Argentine Mauricio Pochettino, won 2-0, with goals from the Egyptian Mohamed Salah and the Belgian Divock Origi.

With these three editions, the English league equals the Spanish, which played the title in 2000, 2014 and 2016. Real Madrid beat on all occasions, the first against Valencia in Paris and the next two against Atlético de Madrid in Lisbon and Milan.

The Bundesliga also enjoyed a final, in 2013, when Jupp Heynckes’ Bayern Munich beat Klopp’s Borussia Dortmund 2-1.

The team led by Spanish Pep Guardiola, who eliminated PSG in the semifinals, will play the first final in their history, while Chelsea, executioner of the king of the competition, Real Madrid, will play the final match for the third time.

City is the forty-second team that will participate in the final of the top continental tournament and the ninth in English (after Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester United, Nottingham Forest and Tottenham). In the previous two there was also a rookie, Tottenham in 2019 and PSG in 2020.

Guardiola will fight for his third title after the two he won at the helm of Barcelona (2009 and 2011). If he won it, he would join the Italian Carlo Ancelotti (two with Milan and one with Real Madrid), the Englishman Bob Paisley (Liverpool) and the Frenchman Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid).

As a Barcelona player, the Spanish coach also won the top continental title in 1992 at Wembley against Italian Sampdoria.

For Tuchel it will be his second consecutive final, after leading Paris Saint Germain last season to fight for the crown against Bayern Munich, who won 1-0 at the La Luz stadium in Lisbon.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *