Brexit: the European Union gave Argentina the right and left the Falklands out of the agreement with the United Kingdom

The European Union (EU) gave the right to the Argentine government and did not include the Falklands in the free trade agreement reached with the United Kingdom, which will take effect as of next Friday, January 1.

In this way, the community block accepted the request made by the Alberto Fernández administration, who requested that the islands were not regarded as a British Overseas Territory on the understanding that it was signed in the hours leading up to Christmas.

The exclusion of the archipelago, for which Argentina and the United Kingdom went to war in 1982, implies that the products originating in the Malvinas will no longer enjoy the tariff advantages they had when the country ruled by Boris Johnson it was part of the EU.

Furthermore, the Falklands will lose the financial assistance they received from the bloc to develop an economy which is extremely dependent on fishing, which is equivalent to 60% of its GDP.

As anticipated The chronicler, the government of Alberto Fernández had insisted that the Falklands not be considered as a British overseas territory in the agreement that the old continent negotiated with the United Kingdom to regulate its commercial relations, based on the United Nations resolution that admits the existence of a sovereignty dispute, and the constant recommendations of the UN Decolonization Committee, constantly ignored by London.

Boris Johnson himself, in his message to the islanders on the occasion of Christmas, had anticipated the position of the EU to “exclude the majority of overseas territories from trade negotiations this year.” However, the British premier assured them that his government will help “manage the change that is coming” and that “they have not been forgotten or left behind.”

The text

In the part seven of the Final Provisions, The article referring to “territorial scope” indicates in point 4 that the Treaty on the European Union, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union and the Treaty Establishing the European Atomic Energy Community shall not apply to overseas territories that they have special relations with the UK.

And he notes that these are: “Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Islas Falkland, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson Islands, Ducie and Oeno, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, South Georgia and South Sandwich, and Turks and Caicos Islands “.

Leave a Comment