Press "Enter" to skip to content

Alexis Canelo is consecrated as scoring champion in Guard1anes 2021

Pedro Alexis Canelo broke an eight-year drought in Toluca without a scoring champion

Pedro Alexis Canelo, player from Toluca, was crowned Guard1anes 2021 scoring champion by scoring 11 in the tournamentHowever, this figure is below the average set by the previous monarchs in this area in the last 10 years. In these 20 tournaments, Liga MX leaders have scored – on average – at least 12 times.

From the 2010 Bicentennial to the present championship, Mexican football has seen 31 forwards of national football be crowned the top network breakers, since on more than one occasion the crown was distributed between two or even three players in some tournaments.

In this decade, the scoring champions who have achieved the most goals (14) are: Ángel Mena (Clausura 2019), André-Pierre Gignac (Apertura 2018), Djaniny Tavares (Clausura 2018), Enner Valencia (Clausura 2014), Iván Alonso and Christian Benítez, who was the only one who could achieve it twice (Clausura 2012 and Apertura 2010).

Despite this record by Pedro Alexis Canelo, there were also other tournaments where the scoring champion scored less than him and one of those occasions was in the Clausura 2017 when Raúl Ruidíaz, with Monarcas Morelia, punched the enemy frame nine times.

André-Pierre Gignac (Clausura 2016), Emanuel Villa and Mauro Boselli (Apertura 2015), as well as Ángel Reyna (Clausura 2011), were consecrated with 13 annotations for the second best record in the aforementioned period.

One of the forwards who was fighting for this honor throughout Guard1anes 2021 was Santiago Ormeño (Puebla), but he was cut off in the aspiration of inscribing his name on a list that includes few Mexicans since only Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernández (Bicentennial 2010), Ángel Reyna (Closing 2013) and Alan Pulido (Opening 2019), have been able to achieve it in the decade.

Toluca once again has a scoring champion among its ranks after 14 tournaments since the last time they got this honor was in the 2013 Apertura through Pablo Velázquez’s ankle boots.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *