Press "Enter" to skip to content

Adriano Espaillat meets with senators to address problems of the Dominican diaspora in NY

Santo Domingo, RD.

Congressman Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), and various senators from the Dominican Republic held a meeting where they discussed various issues, with the aim of contributing to solutions to the main problems of the diaspora.

At the meeting, the senator for the Espaillat province, Carlos Gómez, coordinated a visit to New York City to evaluate the modification of some laws in favor of the Dominican community.

“We are inviting the living force of the Dominican community in New York to participate in this meeting; We want to hear the different problems and see how we, through the Dominican Congress, can create or modify some laws for the benefit of the Dominican community, I know the loneliness that Dominicans feel outside of their country, because I lived it, ”said Gómez in a Press release.

While Adriano Espaillat, revealed that his administration has directed a plan with the Dominican diaspora residing in the nation he represents, which has the purpose of preparing a series of demands on the Dominican government.

“I believe that the diaspora should organize their projects in a coherent and efficient way, and that is why we have started the consultations; we would like to share those ideas with you. There are more than 100 congressmen who have signed a document asking pharmaceutical companies to loosen patents, there are countries like the Dominican Republic that can produce their own vaccine, “he said.

The meeting also addressed the issues of international cooperation, vaccine donation management to the Dominican Republic, visit of the senators of the permanent commission of Dominicans residing in the United States, to New York, to visit the Dominican diaspora.

Also present at the meeting were senators Carlos Gómez (Espaillat), president of the permanent commission of Dominicans residing abroad; Dionis Sánchez (Pedernales); Faride Raful (National District); Franklin Romero (Duarte); Ramón Rogelio Genao Durán (La Vega); Ramón Pimentel (Monte Cristi); Lenin Valdez (Monte Plata); Milcíades Franjul (Peravia); Pedro Catrain (Samaná); Ricardo de los Santos (Sánchez Ramírez); and Eddy Nolasco (Valverde).

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *