Press "Enter" to skip to content

Abdulrazak Gurnah – Tanzanian wins Nobel Prize for Literature

The Nobel Prize for Literature goes to the Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurnah (72). This was announced by the Swedish Academy, which has awarded the award since 1901. It is the first Nobel Prize for Literature for a Tanzanian!

Gurnah receives the award for his “uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of refugees in the Gulf between cultures and continents,” as the academy’s justification puts it.

Gurnah was born in Zanzibar off the coast of Tanzania. At the age of 20 he went to the UK as a student and received his PhD from the University of Kent. Today he works there as an English professor. He has published ten books that deal primarily with post-colonialism.

In 2020 the highest award in literature went to the American poet Louise Glück (78).

+++ BILD is now also on TV! Click here for BILD LIVE +++

More in a moment at BILD.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *